Vote John Troxell for the 2012 Liberty Mutual COTY

Vote John Troxell for the 2012 Liberty Mutual COTY

 BOSTON – Liberty Mutual Insurance opens voting for the 2012 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year campaign.  Franklin & Marshall fans can vote for John Troxell – who was a finalist for the honor in 2009 - once per day via In addition to the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year trophy, Liberty Mutual will donate $50,000 to support the charities of each winning coach and $20,000 to his school's alumni association for academic scholarships. 

Kicking off its seventh season, the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award is the only college football award that supports both charity and scholarship through its winners.  It honors one coach in each NCAA division who best exemplifies sportsmanship, integrity, responsibility and excellence on and off the field.

Now through December 1, fans can use their PC, tablet or mobile device to visit and post a pre-populated tweet to cast their Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year vote.  

You can vote for Coach Troxell on Twitter by tweeting the message:

I vote for John Troxell of Franklin and Marshall for @lmcoachoftheyear #COTY2012

This Tweet will count as an official vote for Coach Troxell and will count for a vote each day it is tweeted (only one vote per day per Twitter handle) In addition, all retweets of the message will count as a vote for Coach Troxell.

Fans can then follow the Coach of the Year voting and discussion on Twitter using #COTY2012.  Fan votes and an objective scoring model endorsed by the National Football Foundation & College Football Hall of Fame will determine the finalists, who will be announced December 4 at the National Football Foundation Awards Dinner Press Conference in New York City.  The winners will be announced January 7, 2013, in South Florida, in advance of the BCS championship game.

The Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award celebrates college football coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS), Football Championship Subdivision (FCS), Division II and Division III for their successful seasons, student-athletes' performance in the classroom, and charitable and civic support in their communities.  Each winner receives $50,000 from Liberty Mutual Insurance to support the charity or charities of their choice, and $20,000 to award to their school's alumni association to promote scholarship.  Since 2006, Liberty Mutual Insurance has awarded more than $1.5 million to over 90 charities and colleges across the country as part of its annual Coach of the Year Award.  

To support your coach's responsibility, integrity, sportsmanship and excellence, visit, and connect with us on Facebook at, Tumblr at or Twitter at @lmcoachofyear.