Tothero Named to AFCA Good Works Team

Tothero Named to AFCA Good Works Team

LANCASTER, Pa. --  Franklin & Marshall junior Chad Tothero has been named to the 2012 Allstate American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) Good Works Team®.  As one of college football's most prestigious off-the-field honors, the award recognizes a select group of college football players committed to making a difference in their communities.

22 college football players from across the country were named to the 2012 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®.  One of the sport's premier service honors, the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® shines a spotlight on the positive, off-the-field impact that a select group of student-athletes has on their communities.  

Tothero is one of five Division III players from across the country to be nominated to the team.  You can vote for the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® Captain by visiting and searching "Good Works" or clicking here.

Fans can learn more about this year's team members and their charitable accomplishments by viewing player profiles on the website. The Team Captain and his fellow award recipients will be invited to New Orleans to take part in a special youth football clinic leading up to the 2013 Allstate® Sugar Bowl®.  

"As fans of college football, Allstate takes great pride in partnering with the AFCA to recognize these dedicated student-athletes for their accomplishments off the field," said Kathy Mabe, president of Allstate's West regions and a member of the 2012 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team voting panel.  "These players have demonstrated the unique ability to balance academics with athletics while donating their limited free time and energy to serve others, and we at Allstate commend them for their commitment to volunteerism."

The following players have been selected to the 2012 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®:

Football Bowl Subdivision (I-A)

Name Cl. Pos. School Hometown
Barrett Jones  Sr.  OL  Alabama Germantown, Tenn.
Philip Lutzenkirchen Sr.  TE  Auburn Marietta, Ga.
Sean Renfree Sr.  QB  Duke Scottsdale, Ariz.
Aaron Murray  Jr.  QB  Georgia Tampa, Fla.
Collin Klein Sr.  QB Kansas State Loveland, Colo.
Mike James  Sr.  RB  Miami (Fla.) Haines City, Fla.
Patrick Omameh  Sr.  OL  Michigan Columbus, Ohio
Rex Burkhead Sr.  RB Nebraska Plano, Tex.
Mike Golic, Jr.  Sr.  OL  Notre Dame West Hartford, Conn. 
Kyle Negrete Sr.  Southern California Los Angeles, Calif.
Brandon McManus  Sr.  Temple Philadelphia, Pa.


Football Championship Subdivision (I-AA), Divisions II, III, and NAIA

Name Cl. Pos. School Hometown
Kevin Day Sr.  OL  Carson-Newman Jefferson City, Tenn.
Oakley Watkins  Sr.  OL Centre Danville, Ky.
Austin Tallant Jr.  LS  Chowan Murfreesboro, N.C.
Zach Bosch  Sr.  OL  Drake Des Moines, Iowa
Brandon Hepburn  Sr.  LB  Florida A&M Tallahassee, Fla.
Chad Tothero  Jr.  OL  Franklin & Marshall Lancaster, Pa.
Malach Radigan  Sr.  DL  Lindenwood St. Charles, Mo.
Greg Tabar  Sr.  Mount St. Joseph Cincinnati, Ohio
Michael Valesano  Sr.  LB  St. Thomas St. Paul, Minn.
Tony Rosa Sr.  WR  Ursinus Collegeville, Pa.
Steve Ciocci Sr.  OL  Wagner Staten Island, N.Y.


Each year, the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® raises the bar for the impact that student-athletes can have on their local communities, and this year's roster is no exception. From creating mentorship programs for at-risk youth to building homes and health clinics overseas, these 22 young men have dedicated themselves to bettering the lives of others through countless acts of service.

"The AFCA, its Board of Trustees and members are honored to partner with Allstate in announcing another great class of student-athletes for the 2012 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team," said Grant Teaff, AFCA Executive Director. "These 22 student-athletes stand out from hundreds of other college football players who volunteer their time each week to make an impact on their teams, and in their community." 

The 2012 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® voting panel includes: former Good Works Team® members Alex Van Pelt (Pittsburgh, 1992 team), Zaid Abdul-Aleem (Duke, 1994 team), Matt Stinchcomb (Georgia, 1997, 1998 teams), Grant Irons (Notre Dame, 1999 team), Brian Brenberg (St. Thomas, 2001 team), Mike Proman (Amherst, 2002 team); media members Lou Holtz (ESPN), Kirk Herbstreit (ESPN), Tom O'Toole (USA Today), Andy Staples (, Blair Kerkhoff (Kansas City Star); current AFCA President and Harvard University Head Coach Tim Murphy; 1987 AFCA President LaVell Edwards, former head coach at Brigham Young University; and Kathy Mabe, President, West Regions at Allstate. 

About the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®

The Allstate AFCA Good Works Teams® were established in 1992 by the College Football Association, recognizing the extra efforts made by college football players and student support staff off the field.  AFCA became the governing body of the award in 1997 and continues to honor college football players who go the extra mile for those in need.  Allstate partnered to present the award starting with the 2008 season.

About AFCA

The AFCA was founded in 1922 and currently has more than 11,000 members around the world ranging from the high school level to the professional ranks. According to its constitution, the AFCA was formed, in part, to "maintain the highest possible standards in football and in the coaching profession" and to "provide a forum for the discussion and study of all matters pertaining to football."