Lions Rally Late to Defeat Diplomats

Lions Rally Late to Defeat Diplomats


LANCASTER, Pa. – Albright scored 24 points in the fourth quarter to overcome a 14-point deficit and defeat Franklin & Marshall 38-34 in the ECAC Southeast Bowl.  The Diplomats fall to 7-4 on the year while the Lions improved to 8-3. 

F&M dominated the first 44:06 of the game and held a 28-14 lead at the start of the fourth when things took a turn for the worse. A kickoff return for a score and two turnovers converted into 14 points led to 21 unanswered points for Albright. 

Daniel McNair, the Bowl MVP, started the scoring off with an 85-yard kick return to bring the Lions within seven, 28-21, at 14:40 in the fourth. F&M fumbled the ball at the one on the ensuing kickoff and Albright capitalized on the next play for their second score in 14 seconds to tie the game at 28-28 with 14:26 left in the game. 

E.J.  Schneider found Paul McGann for 41 yards on the first play on F&M's next drive, but McGann lost the ball and Lions took over on their own 34-yardline. Albright made the best of the opportunity with a 10-play, 66-yard scoring drive that gave the Lions the lead for good, 35-28, with 8:33 left in the game. 

F&M was unable to gain substantial yards on its next two possessions and turned the ball over on downs on their own 32-yardline with 2:23 left. Albright ran six plays, took 1:17 off clock and settled for a 35-yard field goal to take a 38-28 lead with 1:17 left to play. 

Schneider led F&M 75 yards down the field in 1:08 and found McGann on a 24-yard strike to bring F&M with four, 38-34, with just four seconds left. The two-point conversion failed and Albright was able to come away with the onside kick to run out the clock and seal the victory. 

F&M jumped out an early 7-0 edge when Schneider capped off a five-play, 44-yard drive with a 15-yard strike to Frank Strumolo at 9:10 in the first quarter. Mike Shin intercepted T.J. Luddy's pass on the eighth play of Albright next series and Schneider threw a 42-yard bomb to McGann on F&M's first play to give the Diplomats at 14-0 lead at 4:37.  

The Lions finally lit the scoreboard with a touchdown at the start of the third before F&M countered with one of their own. The Diplomats took 4:18 off the clock and drove 75 yards in nine plays when Schneider found Jordan Zackery for a 14-yard score to make 21-7 with 9:14 left to the break.

Albright added another touchdown with 2:37 left to come within seven, 21-14, at the break. 

The third quarter was scoreless before the Diplomats punched one in six seconds into the fourth when Schneider found Muller on six-yard pass at 14:54. The ensuing kickoff went to McNair, which set up the Lions' rally. 

Schneider completed 17-of-30 passes for 259 and five touchdowns and added another 100 rushing yards on 12 carries. 

McGann had a game-high 137 yards on five catches and two scores while Zackery finished with 39. Zackery added another 115 return yards for a 154 all-purpose yards. 

Sam Massaro tallied a game-high 11 tackles (10 solo), including one for a loss. Brian Velasco had nine tackles (6 solo) and Aaron Fant finished with eight. Mike Shin and C.T. Marsh both had six stops while John Gandolfo, Kenny Provost and Marsh all finished with a sack. 

The game was the final contest for 16 seniors as Kenny Schultz, Sam Massaro, C.T. Marsh, Scott Williams, Devin Hunter, Jonathan Struss, Peter Gumas, T.J. Tynan, Mike Shin, Alec Regulinski, Nick Barbieri, Jordan Studevan, Sami Caygoz, Sam Wojciechowski, Kenny Provost and John Gandolfo all played their last collegiate football game wearing an F&M uniform with a four-year mark of 26-18.


Score by Quarters 1 2 3 4 Score  
Albright 0 14 0 24 38 Record: (8-3)
Franklin & Marshall 14 7 0 13 34 Record: (7-4)
Scoring Summary:      
1st 9:10 F&M Frank Strumolo 15 yd pass from E.J. Schneider (Chris DeStefano kick), 5-44 2:31, ALBFB 0 - F&M 7
  4:37 F&M Paul McGann 42 yd pass from E.J. Schneider (Chris DeStefano kick), 1-42 0:09, ALBFB 0 - F&M 14
2nd 13:42 ALBFB Marty Reinhardt 15 yd run (Dan Sobolewski kick), 12-65 5:55, ALBFB 7 - F&M 14
  9:14 F&M Jordan Zackery 14 yd pass from E.J. Schneider (Chris DeStefano kick), 9-75 4:18, ALBFB 7 - F&M 21
  2:37 ALBFB Daniel McNair 17 yd pass from TJ Luddy (Dan Sobolewski kick), 12-76 6:30, ALBFB 14 - F&M 21
4th 14:54 F&M Tim Muller 6 yd pass from E.J. Schneider (Chris DeStefano kick), 7-80 2:29, ALBFB 14 - F&M 28
  14:40 ALBFB Daniel McNair 85 yd kickoff return (Dan Sobolewski kick), , ALBFB 21 - F&M 28
  14:26 ALBFB Ty Hughes 1 yd run (Dan Sobolewski kick), 1-1 0:05, ALBFB 28 - F&M 28
  8:33 ALBFB TJ Luddy 1 yd run (Dan Sobolewski kick), 10-66 5:40, ALBFB 35 - F&M 28
  1:17 ALBFB Dan Sobolewski 35 yd field goal, 6-14 1:06, ALBFB 38 - F&M 28
  0:04 F&M Paul McGann 24 yd pass from E.J. Schneider (E.J. Schneider pass failed), 7-75 1:08, ALBFB 38 - F&M 34


RUSHING: Albright-Ty Hughes 14-67; Marty Reinhardt 6-34; Zach Groff 8-13; Scott Pillar 2-7; Daniel McNair 1-0; TJ Luddy 7-minus 1; TEAM 2-minus 2; Adam Galczynski 2-minus 6. Franklin & Marshall-E.J. Schneider 12-100; Lamont Jackson 5-50; Frank Strumolo 7-32; Scott LaValva 3-18.

PASSING: Albright-TJ Luddy 15-23-1-243; Adam Galczynski 4-6-0-43. Franklin & Marshall-E.J. Schneider 17-30-1-259.

RECEIVING: Albright-Daniel McNair 6-89; Scott Pillar 5-91; Caleb Shilko 5-84; Eric Wade 2-13; Zach Groff 1-9. Franklin & Marshall-Paul McGann 5-137; Jordan Zackery 5-39; Tim Muller 3-29; Frank Strumolo 2-40; Devin Hunter 1-14; Lamont Jackson 1-0.

INTERCEPTIONS: Albright-Matthew Hnatiuk 1-11. Franklin & Marshall-Mike Shin 1-38.

FUMBLES: Albright-None. Franklin & Marshall-Dominch Hezekiah 1-1; Paul McGann 1-1.

SACKS (UA-A): Albright-Matt Pattison 1-0. Franklin & Marshall-Kenny Provost 1-0; John Gandolfo 1-0; C.T. Marsh 1-0.

TACKLES (UA-A): Albright-Matthew Hnatiuk 5-2; Joe Magosin 6-0; Drew Peterson 4-1; Sean Cunningham 3-2; Ed Leech 3-0; Matt Pattison 3-0; Ryan Ott 2-1; Matt Filosa 1-2; Mark Capetola 2-0; TJ Luddy 2-0; Hunter Riggs 2-0; Nick Gjoni 2-0; Paul Hobbs 1-0; Donny Guido 1-0; Christodoylakis 1-0; Rashad Adams 1-0; TEAM 1-0; Josh Marshall 1-0; Zach Groff 0-1; Ethan Martin 0-1. Franklin & Marshall-Sam Massaro 10-1; Brian Velasco 6-3; Aaron Fant 5-3; Mike Shin 4-2; C.T. Marsh 4-2; John Gandolfo 2-2; Ryan Young 2-2; Ryan Feulner 2-2; Nick Barbieri 3-0; Kenny Provost 2-0; Jordan Blair 2-0; A.J. Koikoi 1-1; Leo Chubinishvili 1-0; Frank Strumolo 1-0; Nick Porcelli 1-0; Tyler Pollick 0-1; John Stark 0-1.