April 17, 2010

Crew Wins Seahawk Sprint

ST. MARY’S, MD. -- The women's varsity 8 team of Jan Heddens-cox, Brittany George-stroke, Alex Merrick, Morgan Burgess, Caitlin Knierim, Katie Winfree, Kate Emert, Allison Ercolano and Haley Post placed 1st (of 5) at the Seahawk Sprint. The team came in 15 seconds faster than second place finisher St. Mary’s (6:38.4) with a time of 6:23.7.

The women's second varsity 8 crew competed in the same race, finishing third with a time of 7:04.8. The team crossed in front of St. Mary’s second varsity (7:13.4) and The College of New Jersey (7:32.4). The boat was made up of Laure Morse – cox, Seymone Killins – stroke, Emma Cedar, Roni Setton, Olivia Hill, Emilia Harband, Debra Gladwin, Laura Blasi and Sabrina Brown.
The men’s varsity 8 competed against St. Mary’s. The Seahawks crossed first with a 5:51.6 time, followed by the Diplomats at 6:09.1. The crew was made up of Felipe Barron-cox, David Kaess-stroke, Greg Hershman, Xiaojin Ren, Marc Nelissen, Will Riegel, Dan Falciani, James Wolters and Ho Hong Lau.

The teams will compete at the Mid-Atlantic Rowing Conference Championships located in Lewisbury, Pa. next Saturday.