2016 F&M Athletic Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

2016 F&M Athletic Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

LANCASTER, Pa. – Franklin & Marshall College will induct six new members into its Athletic Hall of Fame on Homecoming Weekend. Amy Abernathy '04, Jack Bailey '69, Steve Coulson, Eve Dintino '83, Leah Rubin '00 and Jack Savage '89 will be honored at an induction ceremony scheduled for Friday, October 14th. 

The class is the 35th to be inducted since the F&M Athletic Hall of Fame was formed in 1969 and raises the total number of members to 240 individuals and 13 teams. 

Below is a look at the 2016 F&M Athletic Hall of Fame Inductees: 

Amy Abernathy '04 – Women's Basketball

Abernathy was a three-time All-Centennial Conference (CC) member as a center and the 2004 CC Player of the Year for women's basketball. She was also one of only seven members in program history to be named an All-American following her senior season and is one of 15 women's basketball members to score more than 1,000 points during her career. Abernathy's name remains scattered throughout the program record book where she places fifth with an average of 14.9 points per game, fourth in rebounds per game (11.5), first in blocks per game (2.7) and 11th in steals per game (1.7). 

Jack Bailey '69 – Track & Field

More than 45 years since his graduation, a pair of Bailey's F&M track & field records still stand. On May 7, 1968 at the Little Three Meet, Bailey ran the 100 meter in a time of 10.5 seconds and the 200 meter in a time of 21.5, marks which have yet to be bested.  Transferring from Tougaloo College in Mississippi in 1967, Bailey had to sit out a year before first competing at F&M as a junior. A co-captain his senior season, he led the team to back-to-back MAC Championships in 1968 and 1969, placing second in both the 100 and 220 meters in 1968 and was a member of the 1600-meter relay team that placed second.  

Steve Coulson – Volleyball Coach

Coulson guided the volleyball team for 12 seasons as one of the program's most successful head coaches. He compiled a 251-149 (.630 winning percentage) record, which stands as the most victories in program history. He guided the Diplomats to four Centennial Crowns, including back-to-back titles from both 1993-94 and 1999-00. On the national level, he led his teams to six NCAA Playoff appearances. His final season in 2000 remains one of the best in volleyball's history. The squad accrued a 34-6 overall record and a perfect 10-0 mark in conference play, advancing to the NCAA Sweet 16 for the first time in program history. He continued to aid F&M as an assistant on the staff of head coach Mary Kate Boland '01, one of his former players and Hall of Fame Class of 2013 inductee. 

Eve Dintino '83 – Women's Lacrosse, Field Hockey 

Dintino concluded her career as one of the lacrosse program's most prolific, exiting Lancaster with 104 goals, which at the time of her graduation, was first on the program's list, to go along with 48 assists and a total of 152 points. She was named an All-American in 1982 and a two-time All-Region member by the Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (AIAW), which served as a predecessor of the NCAA for women's collegiate competition until 1981-82. She helped lead her team to three MAC Championships and a pair of AIAW/USWLA National Runners Up finishes. 

Leah Rubin '00 – Women's Tennis 

Rubin remains one of just four women's tennis players in CC history to be named Player of the Year Twice, earning the honors in 1999 and 2000. She was elected to the All-CC First Team all four years in singles and earned a spot on the All-CC First Team for doubles three times. Along with teammate Katie G. Rouff-Ward '99, the duo formed one of the most formidable doubles teams in program history, accumulating a record 36 wins and a pair of All-CC First Team nods.  The Diplomats won four consecutive CC Titles (1997-00) during her tenure, as Rubin accumulated a career record of 74-13 in singles, which is fourth on the all-time list, and 51-16 in  doubles, which is tied for sixth. 

Jack Savage '89 – Football, Wrestling 

Savage was the only defensive player in Centennial Conference history to be named  Player of the Year, when the CC awarded the 5-9, 195-lb. defensive tackle with MVP honors in 1988.  An All-American in both 1987 and 1988, Savage places 10th in program history with 17 career sacks and recorded a total of 223 tackles, including a career-high 102 in 1988. He captained the team during his senior season and garnered All-CC accolades in his final two years. Savage was a member of three Conference Championship teams, including the 1987 squad which was the last to go undefeated in CC play at 7-0.