Seniors Honored at Awards Luncheon

Seniors Honored at Awards Luncheon

LANCASTER, Pa. – Georgio Milligan and Becky Willert received the highest honors given to Franklin & Marshall senior athletes at the annual awards luncheon on Monday. Milligan won the Garrigues Outstanding Senior Athlete Award, while Willert was honored with the Karvasales Outstanding Senior Athlete Award. The Garrigues and Karvasales awards are given to the male and female senior athletes that display cumulative outstanding athletic and academic achievements over a four-year period.

Milligan (Spring Valley, N.Y./Don Boscoe Prep) was awarded with numerous postseason accolades after leading the men's basketball team to its third-straight CC title and a trip to the NCAA Elite Eight. He was honored as the DIII News National Player of the Year, NABC and Regional Player of the Year, CC Player of the Year, and was a First Team All-Region selection by the NABC and Milligan was a unanimous First Team All-CC selection and became the first player in CC history to earn First Team All-CC honors four times, and the fifth player in CC history to earn back-to-back Player of the Year awards. 

Milligan led his teams to a 103-21 record over the last four seasons, starting in all 124 games - a school record. The guard helped F&M win an unprecedented three-straight CC Crowns and four NCAA Appearances. During that time, F&M advanced to the Final Four, two Elite Eights and made a second round appearance. He ends his collegiate career as F&M's all-time leader in scoring (1,932), second in steals (282) and assists (628) and third in blocked shots (140).  He is also first with 535 free throws made.

Willert (North East, Md./Rising Sun) became the first F&M field hockey player to win Centennial Conference (CC) Player of the Year honors last fall. She led the CC in points (63) and goals (29) and climbed her way up the F&M record books with her performance. Willert closed out her career ranked first in game-winning goals (13), fourth in goals (48) and fifth in points (102). She also ranks first in single-season game-winners (9) and second in both single-season points (63) and single-season goals (29). Willert helped F&M put together one of the best seasons in school history in 2011. The Diplomats won a school-record 17 games, earned their first-ever Centennial Conference (CC) regular season title, advanced to the CC title game and the NCAA Sweet 16.

David Balderston (Ardmore, Pa./The Shipley School) of the men's basketball team and Tanya Arora (Mumbai, India/The Cathedral and John Connon School) of the women's squash team were awarded the Student Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) Sportsmanship Award. The Sportsmanship Award is bestowed upon a male and female athlete who has demonstrated consistently good sportsmanship and ethical behavior in his/her daily participation in intercollegiate athletics. He/she must also have demonstrated good citizenship outside of an athletic competition setting and be in good academic standing.

Scott Rownd (Shaker Heights, Ohio/Shaker Heights) of the men's swimming team and Claire Marshall (Norridgewock, Maine/Skowhegan Area) of the women's track & field team were honored with the Delphic Student-Athlete Award. The award is given to the male and female senior athletes with the highest cumulative Grade Point Average at the conclusion of the fall semester.

Photos from the luncheon have been posted on the F&M Athletics Facebook page. To view pictures of the event, click here