Five Diplomats Inducted to Hampshire Honor Society

Five Diplomats Inducted to Hampshire Honor Society

Complete Team

DALLAS – Five members of Franklin & Marshall’s football team were amongst the inductees to the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame (NFF) Hampshire Society.

The Society is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who meet the following criteria:

  • Being a starter or a significant substitute in one's last year of eligibility at an accredited NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III, or an NAIA college or university;
  • Achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study; and
  • Meeting all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements.

The National Honor Society becomes the latest component of the organization's efforts to promote combined athletic and academic success. Launched in 1959 with a donation from Hall of Fame coach Earl "Red" Blaik, the NFF's National Scholar-Athlete Awards program became the first initiative in history to credit a player for his combined academic success, football performance and community leadership.

A total of 564 players from 266 schools qualified for membership in the society's third year. F&M’s honorees were: James Gregory (Rockville, Md. / Winston Churchill), Christopher Minck (Belle Mead, N.J. / Montgomery), Andrew Rocks (Erdenhiem, Pa. / La Salle College HS), M. Stewart Ryan (Blue Bell, Pa. / La Salle College HS), and Paul Sousa (Chester, N.J. / West Morris Mendham).

Franklin & Marshall finished the season at 4-6 under the direction of third-year head coach, John Troxell. The Diplomats produced nine All-Conference players and return starters at 11 positions in 2009.