Devils Sneak Away With Wagon

Devils Sneak Away With Wagon

Complete Box

LANCASTER, Pa. - Gordon Craig chipped in a 19-yard field goal as time expired to lead Dickinson to a 45-43 comeback win over Franklin & Marshall Saturday at Sponaugle-Williamson Field.

The win keeps the Conestoga Wagon Trophy in the Red Devil's hands for the sixth straight season.

Dickinson  (3-0, 1-0 CC) remained perfect on the season while the Diplomats (2-1, 0-1 CC) suffered their first loss.

Craig's kick capped off a 10-play, 60-yard, drive that began at Dickinson's 36-yard line with the Diplomats leading 43-42 with 3:42 left in the game.

Franklin & Marshall took 43-42 lead with 3:49 left in the game when Jarell Diggs (5 catches, 49 yards) made a one-handed catch in the end zone while being draped by a Dickinson defender. John Harrison (28-of-42, 347 yards) converted the two-point pass to Ryan Murray.

The Red Devils scored on their first possession when Ian Mitchell hooked up with Pat O'Connor for a four-yard scoring strike just 2:34 seconds into the game.

F&M answered right back when Harrison hit Murray with a five-yard pass in the flat at the Dickinson 27. Murray received a knock down block from Michael Deutch that sprang Murray at the 10-yard line. He raced untouched for a 32-yard score. Devin Hunter's extra point tied the game at 7-7.

Tim Wells put the Devils in the lead on their next possession with a four-yard scoring plunge before F&M answered when John Kaschak hit paydirt from one-yard out. Hunter's extra point was blocked and kept Dickinson ahead by 1, 14-13.

The Diplomats took their first lead of the game when Jay Ridinger (6 catches, 115 yards) out-jumped Michael Maxwell to haul in a 39-yard scoring toss from Harrison. Hunter's extra point was blocked again to give F&M a 19-14 lead with 6:10 left in the first half.

Ian Mitchell put his team back on top with an 18-yard touchdown run with just under four minutes left in the half.  Mitchell finished the game with 179 yards on the ground to become the Centennial Conference's all-time leading rusher for quarterback with 2,046 yards.

George Eager fumbled the ensuing kickoff at his own 18-yard line before picking it up at the 20 and racing 80 yards untouched to regain the F&M lead. Murray's halfback option pass to Ridinger for the two-point conversation put the Diplomats ahead 27-21 with just over two minutes left before the break.

Mitchell nearly single handedly marched Dickinson down the field on its next possession to capture the lead one more time before the half. Mitchell accounted for 64 of 70 yards on the drive that was capped off with an eight-yard pass to Craig Helfer. The score gave Dickinson a 28-27 lead at the half.

F&M missed out on an opportunity to take the lead in the third quarter.  The Diplomats started at their own four yard line and drove the down to Dickinson's 10 on 17 plays. On third and goal, Pete Hamil picked off Harrison at the seven.

The Devils marched 93 yards and punched it in with a Tim Wells one-yard run to go ahead 35-27.

Harrison and Co. answered right back when the sophomore quarterback threw his third touchdown of the game finding Michael Deutch at the goal line with an 11-yard scoring pass that tied the game at 35-35.

Franklin & Marshall will travel to Juniata (0-3) next Saturday at 1 p.m.


Dickinson vs Franklin & Marshall (Sep 19, 2009 at Lancaster, Pa.)

Score by Quarters-1-2-3-4-Score

Dickinson 7-21-7-10-45 Record: (3-0,1-0)

Franklin & Marshall 7-20-0-16-43 Record: (2-1,0-1)


Scoring Summary:

1st 12:26 DC Pat O'Connor 4 yd pass from Ian Mitchell (Gordon Craig kick), 5-25 2:34, DC 7 - F&M 0

2:51 F&M Ryan Murray 32 yd pass from John Harrison (Devin Hunter kick), 9-65 3:40, DC 7 - F&M 7

2nd 13:42 DC Tim Wells 4 yd run (Gordon Craig kick), 9-64 4:02, DC 14 - F&M 7

8:18 F&M John Kaschak 1 yd run (Devin Hunter kick blockd), 10-79 5:17, DC 14 - F&M 13

5:44 F&M Jay Ridinger 39 yd pass from John Harrison (Devin Hunter kick blockd), 3-60 1:25, DC 14 - F&M 19

2:21 DC Ian Mitchell 18 yd run (Gordon Craig kick), 8-75 3:16, DC 21 - F&M 19

2:07 F&M George Eager 80 yd kickoff return (Jay Ridinger pass from Ryan Murray), , DC 21 - F&M 27

00:13 DC Craig Helfer 8 yd pass from Ian Mitchell (Gordon Craig kick), 9-70 1:46, DC 28 - F&M 27

3rd  1:18 DC Tim Wells 1 yd run (Gordon Craig kick), 7-93 2:41, DC 35 - F&M 27

4th 12:23 F&M Michael Deutch 11 yd pass from John Harrison (George Eager pass from John Harrison), 8-41 3:43, DC 35 - F&M 35

8:03 DC Ian Mitchell 16 yd run (Gordon Craig kick), 10-54 4:10, DC 42 - F&M 35

3:49 F&M Jarrell Diggs 9 yd pass from John Harrison (Ryan Murray pass from John Harrison), 10-60 4:05, DC 42 - F&M 43

00:00 DC Gordon Craig 19 yd field goal, 11-62 3:42, DC 45 - F&M 43 

RUSHING: Dickinson-Ian Mitchell 20-179; Tim Wells 16-77; Tim Smith 12-70; Greg Lord 7-31; Pat O'Connor 1-0. Franklin & Marshall-John Kaschak 6-34; Alan Williams 5-27; Ryan Murray 5-11; Jarrell Diggs 2-10; George Eager 1-1; John Harrison 5-minus 11.

PASSING: Dickinson-Ian Mitchell 9-14-0-104. Franklin & Marshall-John Harrison 28-42-2-347; Jarrell Diggs 0-1-0-0.

RECEIVING: Dickinson-Craig Helfer 2-39; Pat O'Connor 2-22; Tim Wells 2-9; Joe Sandoe 1-27; Greg Lord 1-8; Tim Smith 1-minus 1. Franklin & Marshall-George Eager 9-91; Jay Ridinger 6-115; Jarrell Diggs 5-49; Ryan Murray 4-44; John Kaschak 3-37; Michael Deutch 1-11.

INTERCEPTIONS: Dickinson-Michael Maxwell 1-0; Pete Hamill 1-0. Franklin & Marshall-None.

FUMBLES: Dickinson-None. Franklin & Marshall-John Harrison 2-0.

SACKS (UA-A): Dickinson-Gray Gish 3-0; Corwyn Gordon 1-0. Franklin & Marshall-C.T. Marsh 1-0; Sam Massaro 1-0.

TACKLES (UA-A): Dickinson-Andrew Fink 7-4; Pete Hamill 5-2; Matt DeStefano 5-1; Jack Connolly 4-2; Kevin Wood 4-1; Gray Gish 4-1; Corwyn Gordon 2-3; Pat McNeal 3-1; Michael Maxwell 1-3; Jeb Smith 1-1; Joe Coffey 0-2; Mike Byrnes 1-0; David London 1-0; Keegan Ash 1-0; Andrew Downs 1-0; Josh Harrison 0-1. Franklin & Marshall-Sam Massaro 5-7; C.T. Marsh 6-1; Drew Hutcheon 4-3; Shane Gray 4-3; James Freeman 4-3; Donald Wiezik 2-4; Ty Savastio 3-2; Frank DiMattia 3-2; Jeff Kellar 2-3; Kyle Wengerter 2-2; Jeffrey Liberatore 3-0; Barry Lovett 3-0; Mark Surma 1-1; Brian Low 1-1; Michael Deutch 1-1; Jay Ridinger 1-0; TEAM 1-0; Michael Marcinek 0-1.