Six Diplomats Inducted to Hampshire Honor Society

Six Diplomats Inducted to Hampshire Honor Society

IRVING, Texas — Six members of Franklin & Marshall's football team were amongst the inductees to the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame (NFF) Hampshire Society. 

The Society is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who meet the following criteria:

  • Being a starter or a significant substitute in one's last year of eligibility at an accredited NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III, or an NAIA college or university;
  • Achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study; and
  • Meeting all NCAA-mandated progress toward degree requirements. 

A total of 882 players from 280 schools qualified for membership as the society celebrates its 10th year, setting a new record for the number of players honored during the history of the program. The number of schools represented ties a record that was set in 2015. 

F&M's honorees were: Anthony Castaneda (Matawan, N.J. / Matawan Regional), Max Havlusch (Leonia, N.J. / St. Joseph Regional), Andrew Heird (York, Pa. / Dallastown), A.J. Kolen (Bridgewater, N.J. / Bridgewater-Raritan), Matt Magarity (Southhampton, Pa. / La Salle College) and Matthew Pisarcik (Wall, N.J. / Wall). 

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society capitalizes on the NFF's National Scholar-Athlete program by greatly expanding the number of scholar-athletes the NFF can recognize each year. The program further strengthens the organization's leadership role in encouraging academic performance by the student-athletes who play football at the 774 colleges and universities with football programs nationwide.