Jeeva Advances to Semifinals; Leads Contingent of Diplomats at CSAs

Jeeva Advances to Semifinals; Leads Contingent of Diplomats at CSAs

PROVIDENCE, R.I. - Sanjay Jeeva rolled into the Semifinals of his Molloy Cup (B Division): North bracket at day one of the CSA Individual Championships in Rhode Island on Friday to lead a trio of Franklin & Marshall men's squash players. 

Shams Abbas and Aryan Parekh also took the court for F&M but were eliminated after falling short in their matchups. 

Jeeva (Molloy Cup: B Division North)

Jeeva was the lone Diplomat to advance into day two where he will return to action tomorrow for a 3:00 p.m. matchup and a chance to play in Sunday's Championship contest. The winner of the bracket will be named a Second Team All-American.

He will face the winner of Friday's Quarterfinal contest between Princeton's Adhitya Raghavan and George Washington's Inaki DeLarrauri.

Fans can follow along with live results here.

After seeping Dickinson's Alex Wattles by a 3-0 tally, Jeeva overcame Dartmouth's Samuel Epley in the Quarterfinals by a 3-1 score with wins in the final two frames.

Abbas (Molloy Cup: B Division East) 

Abbas put forth a valiant effort in Molloy Cup: B Division East bracket but was eventually forced to withdraw due to illness. The Diplomats' junior No. 1 got off to a strong start with wins of 11-3 and 11-9 in his first two frames against Colby's Elliot Gross. 

Parekh (Molloy Cup: B Division West)

Parekh started his Tournament strong with a 3-1 triumph over Yale's Calvin McCafferty in the Round of 16. However, F&M's first-year standout came up short in his next matchup by a 3-1 tally.

The Results

Molloy Cup: North
Day 1
16 - Sanjay Jeeva (Franklin & Marshall) def. Alex Wattles (Dickinson) 11-3, 11-6, 11-6
QF - Sanjay Jeeva (Franklin & Marshall) def. Samuel Epley (Dartmouth) 11-5, 9-11, 11-5, 11-4

Molloy Cup: East
Day 1
16 - Elliot Gross (Colby) def. Shams Abbas (Franklin & Marshall) 3-11, 9-11, 11-7, 11-9, retired

Molloy Cup: West
Day 1
16 - Aryan Parekh (Franklin & Marshall) def. Calvin McCafferty (Yale) 11-8, 7-11, 11-5, 11-8
QF - Matthew Toth (Rochester) def. Aryan Parekh (Franklin & Marshall) 11-5, 7-11, 12-10, 11-3