Women’s Lacrosse to Honor ’07 NCAA Championship Team on April 1

Women’s Lacrosse to Honor ’07 NCAA Championship Team on April 1

LANCASTER, Pa. – Franklin & Marshall's athletic department, along with the women's lacrosse program, is set to honor the 10th anniversary of the Diplomats' 2007 NCAA Championship team.

The '07 team is being welcomed back to campus to be recognized during halftime of the team's game against Haverford on Saturday, April 1. The CC tilt with the Fords is set for a 12:00 p.m. start. 

Just the fifth team to win a NCAA Division III Women's Lacrosse Championship with an undefeated record at 21-0, F&M's '07 squad was the first Diplomat team to earn a National Title since 1985. On the road to winning the NCAA Championship, F&M won its first Centennial Conference (CC) Title with a convincing 14-4 victory over defending champion Gettysburg, one of three wins over the Bullets on the season. The Diplomats went on to post a 5-0 record in the NCAA Tournament, defeating Salisbury 11-8 in the title game. 

A full recap of that Championship-clinching win over the Sea Gulls can be found here.

F&M, who holds a 4-1 record and is currently ranked at No. 4 in the nation, opens CC competition on the road this Saturday against Swarthmore at 3:00 p.m.