Diplomats Recognize Team Award Winners

Diplomats Recognize Team Award Winners

The Franklin & Marshall softball team held its post-season gathering to recognize award winners for the 2011 campaign. The coaching staff voted on the award recipients.

Freshman Malorie Sassaman was named MVP after an All-Centennial Conference First Team season. Sassaman led the Diplomats with a .438 batting average with 13 extra base hits and 26 RBIs.  Sassaman set the school record for hits in a season with 56 while having a .947 fielding percentage at second base. She was second in the conference in average, hits and triples (4).

Junior Megan Pauley earned the Most Improved award. Pauley played first base for the first time in her collegiate career and started in 31 games. She batted .345 with 18 RBIs and fielded .975 percent.

Freshman Julie Jefferson was given the Dirt, Sweat, Smile (hard work, smiles) award. She batted .387 with team-highs in RBI (28) and home runs (4).

Karalynne Clark was given the Leadership Award, Danielle Murphy the Coaches Award (examples the best in an F&M Student Athlete) and Ashley Hartshorn the Spirit Award.