F&M Set to Open CSAs against No. 21 Mt. Holyoke

F&M Set to Open CSAs against No. 21 Mt. Holyoke

Tournament Homepage | Walker Cup HistoryLive Results

MIDDLETOWN, Conn. - Franklin & Marshall's No. 20 women's squash team earned a place in the Walker Cup (C Division) of this weekend's Collegiate Squash Association (CSA) Team Championships. 

Competition begins with the First Round on Friday at 2:00 p.m. against No. 21 Mt. Holyoke and will take place on the campus of Wesleyan University.

Trinity College will serve as the site of the bracket's Semifinal and Championship matches, while First Round and Consolation contests will be hosted by Wesleyan. 

To view the complete bracket, click here

A Look at the Bracket 

F&M is squaring off against Mt. Holyoke for the first time since the 2013-14 season as the Diplomats enter with a two-match winning streak in the series. 

Friday's opening-round winner advances to the Semifinals on Saturday at 6:30 p.m. to compete against the winner of No. 17 Tufts and No. 24 St. Lawrence. No. 19 Bates squares off with No. 22 Hamilton and No. 18 Dickinson battles No. 23 Wesleyan in the bracket's other two matchups. 

A Look at F&M

F&M enters the weekend with a 6-11 overall record. The Diplomats closed out the regular season on Saturday, Feb. 9 with a 1-1 split in Lancaster after rolling past Haverford (8-1) before being edged by Dickinson (5-4).

Emily Bartos leads F&M in wins with a 9-8 record between the No.'s 3-4 positions on the ladder while Katherine Galambos is 8-8 between No.'s 3-4 as well. Ellen Verry has accumulated six wins from the No. 1 position while Emily Knapp has taken down six opponents at No. 2.

Walker Cup History 

F&M returns to the Walker Cup, an annual matchup of the nation's No. 17-24 teams, for the third consecutive year and the fourth time since the 2013-14 season. The Diplomats won the Walker Cup in 2011 after defeating Hamilton by a 5-4 tally in the finals. Last year, F&M went 2-1 at the Championships with a pair of 8-1 wins over Colby and Hamilton.

The bracket is named after Dale Walker, who coached the Yale's women's team to National Titles in 1986 and 1992. For a complete history of the Walker Cup, click here.