Diplomats Sit Seventh At CC Championships

Diplomats Sit Seventh At CC Championships

Complete Results

GETTYSBURG, Pa. - Kwaku Anno repeated as Centennial Conference (CC) champion in the long jump, earning the first gold medal for the Franklin & Marshall men's track & field team on the second day of competition at the 2008 Outdoor Championships held at Gettysburg this weekend.

Anno, who also won the long jump at the CC Indoor Championships, hit the mark of 22-05.75 to collect 10 out of the 13 points on the day and help the Diplomats to sixth place through seven scored events. The women sit in seventh place out of 10 teams with 11 points.

The men's 4x800 relay team consisting of Charlie Bowen, Josh Laster, Jared Pickell and Ryan Bell took sixth place with a time of 8:19.95 to earn the final three points for F&M.

Megan Hunter broke two school records in the preliminaries of the 200m and 400m race. Hunter came in first both events to qualify for the finals tomorrow, clocking in at 25.93 in the 200m to reset her old record of 26.17. In the 400m, she ran 58.26 to replace her previous time of 58.72.

In the discus, Erin Gleason led the Diplomats with a fourth-place finish with a throw of 117-03 to earn five points. Alyssa Catalano also competed in the discus and took 10th overall (97-11).

Shannon Weir finished in the top 10 in the 3000m steeplechase, running in sixth place with a time of 11:54.97 to add three points to F&M's total. Weir and Hunter joined Jenna Bush and Nicole DiBenedetto for sixth in the 4x800m relay (10:09.61).

Three men made their way into Sunday's finals in the 100m, 200m and 110m hurdles. Steven Tracy and Jake Gomolinski battled it out for the top two spots in the preliminaries of the 200m, running 21.93 and 21.99, respectively. Tracy crossed the finish line in 11.05 for second in the 100m and Gomolinski finished fifth (11.06).

Mike Arnold will represent the Diplomats in the finals of the 110m hurdles, clocking in at 15.92 in the prelims.

F&M returns to action tomorrow on the last day of the CC Championships. Meet time is 11 a.m.