Phelan and Morano Earn All-CC Honors

LANCASTER, Pa. – Margot Phelan and Nicole Morano, members of Franklin & Marshall’s volleyball team, were named to the 2008 All-Centennial Conference Volleyball team. Phelan earned All-Centennial First Team honors, while Morano was named to the Second Team. Both were also named to the Centennial's Academic Honor Roll.

Phelan, F&M’s only volleyball All-American, earned First Team honors for the fourth time in her career. She is the fourth player in Conference history to earn first-team All-Centennial four times, joining Gettysburg's Catherine Schott, Haverford's Jen Constantino and Muhlenberg's Julie Lauro in the elite club. Phelan averaged 2.82 kills and 3.41 blocks per game this season. She was consistently named to the Centennial Conference’s Weekly Honor Roll throughout the season.

Morano, a sophomore, hit .285 in Centennial Conference play this season and posted 90 kills during league matches. Despite playing most of the first half of the season with an injury, she put up 216 kills and led the team with 69 blocks (20 solo). She was named the Centennial’s Player of the Week in late October after leading F&M to critical league wins that earned the Diplomats’ fourth seed in the Centennial Championships.

Franklin & Marshall won its first round game in the Centennial Championship Tournament before being ousted by Gettysburg in the Conference Semifinals.  F&M finished the season at 13-16 with a 7-3 league mark, and 7-2 record at home. The Diplomats graduate four seniors this season, including Phelan.

First Team
H-Rebecca Salvo, Haverford +    Jr    La Cañada, CA / Flintridge Sacred Heart
H-Kate Yoder, Gettysburg (A) %    So    Emmaus, PA / Emmaus
H-Margot Phelan, Franklin & Marshall (A) ++    Sr    Ellicott City, MD / Centennial
H-Rachel Salvo, Haverford *    Jr    La Cañada, CA / Flintridge Sacred Heart
H-Taylor Herrgott, McDaniel #    Jr    Derwood, MD / Magruder
S-Amanda Lewis, Johns Hopkins *    Sr    San Antonio, TX / St. Mary's Hall
L-Kristin Kotewcz, Gettysburg    Jr    Columbia, MD / River Hill

Second Team
H-Alex Zenoff, Johns Hopkins (A)    Jr    San Francisco, CA / San Francisco University
H-Jen Wang, Swarthmore    Sr    Palo Alto, CA / Henry Gunn
H-Nicole Morano, Franklin & Marshall (A)    So    Tenafly, NJ / Tenafly
H-Phylicia Lee, Muhlenberg    Jr    Bloomfield, NJ / Lacordaire Academy
H-Mary Kate Wilmoth, Ursinus    So    Wilmington, DE / St. Mark's
S-Amanda Krampf, Gettysburg    Jr    Gaithersburg, MD / Gaithersburg
L-Amanda Hayes, Dickinson (A) #    Jr    Midlothian, VA / Midlothian

Honorable Mention
H-Katie Merrill, Bryn Mawr    Fr    Sierra Madre, CA / Pasadena
H-Davi Gordon, Muhlenberg    Fr    Pickerington, OH / Pickerington North
H-Kristen Lee, Dickinson    Jr    Los Angeles, CA / Brentwood School
H-Kristina Mercier, Gettysburg    Jr    Baltimore, MD / Mount de Sales Academy
H-Kim Jackanich, Johns Hopkins (A) #    Sr    Pacifica, CA / St. Ignatius College Prep
H-Kelsey Cantwell, Haverford    So    Newport News, VA / Warwick
S-Megan Eiser, Muhlenberg (A)    Sr    Doylestown, PA / Central Bucks West

++    1st team All-Centennial in 2005, 2006 and 2007
+    1st team All-Centennial in 2006 and 2007
*    1st team All-Centennial in 2007
#    2nd team All-Centennial in 2007
%    Honorable Mention All-Centennial in 2007
(A)    Named to Conference Academic Honor Roll

Player of the Year - Rebecca Salvo, Haverford, Jr., Hitter


•    Salvo is the second consecutive Haverford player to earn Centennial Player of the Year laurels, following in the footsteps of her sister Rachel.  She is the lone unanimous first-team All-Conference selection – the 13th in Centennial history - in balloting by the Conference's 11 head coaches.  Salvo is also the eighth player in Conference history to earn first-team All-Centennial honors three times.

•    Phelan is the fourth player in Conference history to earn first-team All-Centennial four times, joining Gettysburg's Catherine Schott, Haverford's Jen Constantino and Muhlenberg's Julie Lauro in the elite club.

•    Gettysburg has 29 first-team selections since 1993, while Franklin & Marshall has 21 selections to the first unit.  Johns Hopkins is third (16), followed by Haverford (12), Muhlenberg (10), McDaniel (8), Dickinson (4), Bryn Mawr (1) and Washington (1).

•    Seven students were also named to the Conference Academic Honor Roll, which recognizes sophomores, junior and seniors who are key performers and have a 3.40 cumulative grade point average or higher.

Centennial Conference Players of the Year
1993: Trish Vos, Franklin & Marshall, Sr., H
1994: Meridith Sandherr, Franklin & Marshall, Sr., H
1995: Jen Krug, Gettysburg, So., S
1996: Jen Power, Franklin & Marshall, Sr., H
1997: Catherine Schott, Gettysburg, So., H
1998: Catherine Schott, Gettysburg, Jr., H
1999: Catherine Schott, Gettysburg, Sr., H
2000: Mary Alexis Paul, Johns Hopkins, Sr., H
2001: Megan Wargo, Gettysburg, Sr., H
2002: Lauren Boyd, Gettysburg, Sr., S
2003: Jessica Cortese, Gettysburg, Jr., H
2004: Nicole Barr, Gettysburg, Sr., H
2005: Katie O'Callaghan, Johns Hopkins, Sr., H
2006: Margot Phelan, Franklin & Marshall, So., H
2007: Rachel Salvo, Haverford, So., H
2008: Rebecca Salvo, Haverford, Jr., H

CC Players of the Year
School                         #    Last
Gettysburg                   8    Nicole Barr, 2004
Franklin & Marshall    4    Margot Phelan, 2007
Haverford                     2    Rebecca Salvo, 2008
Johns Hopkins               2    Katie O'Callaghan, 2005

Four-Time First-Team All-Centennial Selections (4)
Catherine Schott, Gettysburg, H, 1996-97-98-99
Jen Constantino, Haverford, H, 2000-01-02-03
Julie Lauro, Muhlenberg, H, 2002-03-04-05
Margot Phelan, Franklin & Marshall, H, 2005-06-07-08

Three-Time First-Team All-Centennial Selections (4)
Jen Power, Franklin & Marshall, H, 1994-95-96
Stacy Dunchick, Franklin & Marshall, H, 1997-98-99

Shannan Smith, Gettysburg, S, 2003-04-05
Rebecca Salvo, Haverford, H, 2006-07-08

First-Team All-Centennial Freshmen
Jen Krug, Gettysburg, S, 1994
Catherine Schott, Gettysburg, H, 1996
Jen Constantino, Haverford, H, 2000
Julie Lauro, Muhlenberg, H, 2002
Margot Phelan, Franklin & Marshall, H, 2005
Amanda Krampf, Gettysburg, S, 2006
Rebecca Salvo, Haverford, H, 2006

Centennial Conference Champions
1993: Franklin & Marshall
1994: Franklin & Marshall, Gettysburg, McDaniel
1995: Gettysburg
1996: Gettysburg
1997: Gettysburg
1998: Gettysburg
1999: Franklin & Marshall, Gettysburg, McDaniel
2000: Franklin & Marshall
2001: Gettysburg
2002: Gettysburg
2003: Gettysburg
2004: Gettysburg
2005: Gettysburg
2006: Haverford
2007: Haverford
2008: Haverford