1978-79 Men’s Basketball Team
Induction Year: 1989
Sport(s): Men's Basketball
Graduation Year: 1979

This special group of young men took the F&M basketball program to the NCAA Division III "Final Four," compiling a 27-5 overall record, including an 11-1 record in the MAC Southwest League. The Diplomats defeated Washington College and Widener University in the MAC Playoffs, then toppled Albright, Elizabethtown, and Jersey City State in the NCAA tournament to advance to the "Final Four." Played at Augustana College, Rock Island, Ill., F&M fell to eventual national champion North Park, 8373, in the semifinal game, then rebounded for a 66065 triumph over Centre College in the consolation game.

Senior guard Donnie Marsh was named to the "All-Final Four" team. Marsh finished his career as F&M's most proficient scorer with 1,695 points, several others played key roles to the success of the team, including senior backcourt mate Bob Manaskie, senior forward Mark Worley, sophomore center Dennis Westley, and freshman forward Don Anderson. Marsh led the team in scoring with an 18.8 average (601) points and was named to several all-star teams. Manaskie was the Diplomats' playmaker, distributing the ball to Marsh, Worley (11.0), and Westley (13.6) while also chipping in 9.3 points per game to balance the scoring.

Westley, who moved into the lineup after starting center Bill Kane went down with an injury in the ninth game of the season, came on to team with Worley and Anderson inside for the bullwork of the boards. Westley is still third on the F&M career scoring list (1,357) and fourth in rebounding (669) while Worley is seventh in scoring (1,233) and 12th in rebounding (471). Marsh holds the F&M season and career records for points, field goals, and steals while Manaksie holds the record for free throws attempted, made and percentage in a game along with the records for most assists in a game, season and a career. Other members of the squad included Tom Blefko, Dave McKenna, Tom Feraco, Art Taylor, Tom Whittaker, Gene Kakalec, Rob Crawford, and Brian Lewis.